STATE OF OHIO
CASINO CONTROL COMMISSION

Inre:
Case No. 2015-LIC-018
SHERONNE JOHNSON,
CASINO GAMING EMPLOYEE LICENSE
APPLICANT

Applicant.
ORDER DENYING CASINO GAMING EMPLOYEE LICENSE APPLICATION

On June 29, 2015, Sheronne Johnson filed with the Ohio Casino Control Commission
(“Commission”) an application for a casino gaming employee license. Thereafter, the
Commission conducted a suitability investigation of Johnson to determine her eligibility for such
a license.

A casino gaming employee license applicant is eligible for licensure upon meeting the
following criteria: (1) being at least 21 years of age, R.C. 3772.131(C); (2) filing a true and
complete Casino Gaming Employee License Application (“Application”), R.C. 3772.131(D) and
Ohio Adm. Code 3772-8-02(A); (3) submission of two sets of the applicant’s fingerprints and a
photograph, R.C. 3772.131(E); (4) payment of the nonrefundable application fee of $250.00, R.C.
3772.131(E) and Ohio Adm. Code 3772-8-03(A), and all fees necessary to cover the cost of the
background investigation in excess of the application fee, Ohio Adm. Code 3772-8-03(B); (5)
reimbursement of the costs for the background check, including the criminal records check, R.C.
3772.07 and 3772.131(E); (6) not having been convicted of or pled guilty or no contest to a
disqualifying offense, R.C. 3772.07 and 3772.10(C)(1); and (7) otherwise is suitable for licensure,
R.C. 3772.10(B) and (C)(7).

During a suitability investigation of Johnson, the Commission discovered sufficient
derogatory information to warrant issuance of a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing (“Notice™),
dated November 18, 2015. (Exhibit A.) Johnson received the Notice, sent via certified mail, on
November 25, 2015. (Exhibit B.) Pursuant to R.C. 119.07 and 3772.04, Johnson had the right to
a hearing if requested within 30 days of the Notice’s mailing. She failed to do so. Accordingly,
no hearing was held and the matter was brought before the Commission on January 20, 2016, for
final adjudication. R.C. 119.07 and 3772.04(A).

WHEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing and upon a quorum and majority vote
of the members, the Commission FINDS and CONCLUDES as follows:

Johnson failed to establish, by clear and convincing evidence, her suitability for licensure
as a casino gaming employee, as required by R.C. 3772.10(B), and (C)(5), and (7) and Ohio Adm.
Code 3772-8-05(A), because:



)

2)

3)
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October 1994 — Other Than Honorable Discharge from the United States Navy

A)

B)

C)

On August 24, 1994, the United States Navy charged her with “Desertion,” for
leaving base without authorization to do so, in Little Creek, Virginia;

On September 2, 1994, she received Captain’s Mast and was sentenced to:
i) Three days bread and water in the brig;
ii) 45 days of restriction; and

iii) Administrative separation from the United States Navy with an “Other
Than Honorable Discharge;” and

On October 31, 1994, the United States Navy discharged her with “Under Other
Than Honorable Conditions” character of service for “Misconduct — Pattern of
Misconduct;”

May 2003 —- Eviction

A forcible entry and detainer was filed against her on behalf of Fath Management Co. on
May 3, 2003, which resulted in a judgment in favor of Fath Management Co. on May 22,
2003, for restitution of premises and recovery of costs in the Hamilton County Municipal

Court;

September 2005 — Possessing Criminal Tools

A)

B)

C)

D)

On August 24, 2005, she was arrested for and charged with violating R.C. 2921.13
— Falsification and R.C. 2923.24 — Possessing criminal tools, both first-degree
misdemeanors, in Cincinnati, Ohio;

On September 1, 2015, a complaint was filed against her for violating R.C.

2921.13(A)(3) — Falsification and R.C. 2923.24 — Possessing Criminal Tools, both

first-degree misdemeanors, in the Hamilton County Municipal Court;

On September 23, 2005, she pled guilty or no contest to one count of R.C. 2923.24

— Possessing criminal tools, a first-degree misdemeanor, in the Hamilton County

Municipal Court; and

On September 23, 2005, as a result of her guilty plea, the Court sentenced her to:

i) Confinement for 180 days with 180 days suspended;

ii) Community Control for a term of one year with conditions, including
mandatory completion of a National Correction Training Institute program

and 24 hours of community service; and

iii) Completion of Theft School; and
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4)
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March 2010 - Judgment/Lien

A lien or judgment was filed against her on March 10, 2010, on behalf of the Ohio Board
of Regents, in the amount of $1,979.47, in Cincinnati, Ohio, which resulted in a judgment
in favor of the Ohio Board of Regents in the amount of $1996.40, plus 4% accrued interest,
in the Hamilton County Municipal Court;

WHEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing and upon a quorum and majority vote
of the members, the Commission ORDERS as follows:

1) Johnson’s Application is DENIED.

2) Johnson is PROHIBITED from working or otherwise serving in any capacity that
requires a license under R.C. Chapter 3772.

3) Johnson is PROHIBITED from reapplying for licensure under R.C. Chapter 3772
for three years from the date the Order is served upon her, absent a waiver granted
by the Commission commensurate with Ohio Adm. Code 3772-1-04.

4) A certified copy of the Order shall be served upon Johnson, via certified mail, return
receipt requested, and her counsel of record, if any, via ordinary mail.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

QMW Kassliom

Davidson, Chair
Casmo Control Commission

NOTICE OF APPEAL RIGHTS

The Party is hereby notified that pursuant to R.C. 119.12, the Commission Order may be
appealed by filing a Notice of Appeal with the Commission setting forth the Order that the Party
is appealing from and stating that the Commission’s Order is not supported by reliable, probative,
and substantial evidence and is not in accordance with law. The Notice of Appeal may also
include, but is not required to include, the specific grounds for the appeal. The Notice of Appeal
must also be filed with the appropriate court of common pleas in accordance with R.C. 119.12. In
filing the Notice of Appeal with the Commission or court, the notice that is filed may be either the
original Notice of Appeal or a copy thereof. The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 15 days
after the date of mailing of the Commission Order.
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