Skill Games Division: (614) 387-0318                           skillgames@casinocontrol.ohio.gov

Important Information Regarding Registration

The registration period for SBAMs closed August 6. Those operators and vendors who submitted a registration with the Commission may continue to conduct SBAM operations in Ohio provided they also submit an application for licensure no later than August 21, 2018. Registration remains effective until the Commission renders a final determination on the operator’s or vendor’s license application.

You can access the eLicense portal at www.eLicense.ohio.gov.

Licenses Related to Skill-Based Amusement Machines

All key employees, type-B operators, type-C operators, vendors, and type-C locations must be licensed by the Commission prior to conducting or participating in conducting skill-based amusement machine (SBAM) gaming in Ohio. 

Once an application for licensure is submitted to the Commission, the Skill Games Division conducts an investigation and determines whether applicants are eligible for licensure. An application is comprised of a completed application, any required supplemental documentation, and a non-refundable application fee. All applicants must establish their suitability for licensure by clear and convincing evidence. Suitability investigations result in a recommendation to the Commission to either grant or deny a license. 

If the Commission determines that the applicant is suitable to be issued a license, the applicant will be required to pay a non-refundable licensing fee to receive the license. 

License Type Application Fee Licensing Fee Licensing Period
SBAM Key Employee $25 $25 3 Years
Type-C SBAM Location $25 $25 3 Years
Type-C SBAM Operator $250 $250 3 Years
Type-B SBAM Operator $125 $125 3 Years
SBAM Vendor $250 $250 3 Years

* Licenses are valid for up to three years, and then must be renewed prior to the expiration date. During this period, the Commission has the authority to reopen an licensing investigation at any time. This ensures that Ohio licensees remain suitable to conduct or participate in skill-based amusement machine gaming.

Registration, applications, and associated fees must be submitted via the state of Ohio eLicense portal. Individuals having trouble accessing the eLicense system or who encounter technical difficulties can call 855-405-5514 for assistance.

Duty to Update Information
Applicants, licensees, and registrants have a continuing duty to update the Commission if any of the information submitted in connection with an application has changed.  Updates must be provided to the Commission within 30 calendar days after the change or occurrence of the event. Changes that must be reported are:

  • Change in name, address, or contact information;
  • Changes to the state of incorporation or principal place of business;
  • Changes in criminal, legal, or financial information;
  • Inquiries, investigations, or regulatory actions by any casino gaming or skill-based amusement machine gaming regulatory agencies in any jurisdiction (except for routine renewals);
  • Rejections, denials, revocations, fines, penalties, or settlements associated with gaming-related licensure or equivalent authorization in any jurisdiction;
  • Any other information that might affect suitability to obtain or maintain a license under Chapters 2915. and 3772. of the Revised Code or Ohio Adm. Code 3772-50-11.

For your convenience, a Duty to Update Information service request can be submitted by logging into the state of Ohio eLicense portal.  From the eLicense dashboard, locate the license or application you wish to update by clicking “Options,” then choosing “Duty to Update Information.”

State of Ohio eLicense Portal

Technical difficulties with eLicense? Call 855-405-5514 for assistance.

 

User Tutorials

Frequently Asked Questions


Gambling Progran Help 800-589-9966 Problem Gambling
Helpline 800-589-9966